Starting Outreachy Libreoffice Internship

·

2 min read

Greetings Everyone,

I'm Omkar, and I'm excited to start my Outreachy internship with LibreOffice where I'll be working on project of enhancing LibreOffice UI integrations by leveraging Native Qt Widgets.

Just three months ago, I graduated with BS in Mathematics from University of Mumbai. My journey into computer science began just last year, thanks to LFX Mentorship program. During this time, I had the opportunity to contribute to the CNCF WasmEdge open-source project. This valuable experience instilled in me the belief that I too can make a career in Software Engineering.

My core values ? Kindness, Hard work, and Curiosity.

  1. Curiosity is like the engine that moves humanity forward. It's the spark that makes people genuinely excited about different things, helping them discover new and creative ways to tackle tasks and challenges. A curious mind doesn't just try to understand what's happening; it also explores different viewpoints, encouraging innovation and progress.

  2. Kindness is crucial in our world today and most important for me. I strongly believe that if each of us adds a bit more kindness, we can address many significant problems. Looking out for others not only benefits them but also helps us. While I might not fully claim kindness as my core value yet but I'm committed to being a little kinder each day.

  3. Hard work is essential to achieving anything. Even if things don't go as planned or if you face challenges, the lessons you learn from those experiences are valuable and can benefit you in the long run.

Why Outreachy?

Health Issues have hindered my earlier pursuits and led my late entry into the field of computer science. With bachelor's degree in Mathematics, I felt uncertain about securing a regular internship position that typically assumes a strong computer science background. Outreachy, however provides a unique opportunity for individuals like myself to pursue and achieve their goals. It gives the chance to work and learn from Mentors who are experienced contributors and technologists and are best in their fields.